Team Collaboration

This article explains how team roles and the sharing work items, deployments, orgs and Git repositories works.

T
Written by Tam Tran
Updated over a week ago

At some point in the release management process, a developer or admin might want to share his or her changes with the release manager who will review the changes and proceed with deployments.

Copado Essentials team features make defining your release management process effortlessly simple.

Teams & Team Members

Copado Essentials users collaborate within their respective teams.

Teams are created automatically for each Salesforce production org. Team members are also assigned automatically. Users signing in to Copado Essentials via the same production org will automatically be assigned to the same team.

For example, Tam & Nicole signed in to Copado Essentials using two logins tam@clickdeploy.io & nicole@clickdeploy.io. These are two users of the same salesforce org. As a result, Copado Essentials automatically assigns Tam & Nicole to the same team.

You can find your team and team members detail under Account Settings > Team and Licenses

Please note that Copado Essentials does not support adding team members who signed in via a different Salesforce organization. This is a secure-by-design restriction to ensure that any sharing activities can only occur between users within the same organization.

Team Roles

The first user who signs in Copado Essentials will automatically be assigned as the owner of the team. Both the team owner and team lead have the authority to modify the team's name and manage it. However, only the team owner is authorized to allocate user licenses.


To change the team roles you can go to the "Team and Licenses" tab on the "Account Settings" and click on Actions button and choose "Change Role" along the right hand side of the user's name. See Image below.

Sharing Deployments

You can share a deployment with other members of your team by clicking on the Share button in your selected deployment.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-16_at_11.03.28_PM.png

Deployment sharing access levels are:

  • View
    Shared users can view deployments in read only mode.

  • Manage
    Shared users can view deployments, edit the deploy options or add & remove components.
    ​
    If org sharing feature is not enabled for your team (see sharing orgs section below), manage access at the deployment level also grants the users permission to perform validate/deploy action.
    ​
    If org sharing feature is enabled for your team, users would need further permissions on the target org in order to perform validate/deploy action.

Sharing Orgs

Note: Org sharing is by default set to "Off". To request Org Sharing, contact Copado Essentials Support. When org sharing is turned on, you will see the "Share" button in the Organizations setup screen:
​

With org sharing feature enabled for your team, you can share an org with other members in your team by clicking on the Share button in your selected org.

Screen_Shot_2019-11-18_at_10.12.05_AM.png

Org sharing access levels are:

  • Validate
    Shared users can validate against the org.

  • Deploy
    Shared users can deploy to the org.

Please note that, when a shared user validates or deploys to a shared org, the Deployment Status page within Salesforce setup UI will show the owner of the org as the deployment user rather than the shared user who initiated the deployment.

Org sharing feature is only applicable to Salesforce orgs, not Git orgs. For Git orgs, the best practice is for each user to setup his/her own git connection.

Collaboration via Comments

Teams can use the ability to comment on deployments, similar to how Salesforce Chatter works. No longer do users need to email deployment links manually. Simply @mention one of your team members on a deployment and Copado Essentials will automatically notify the mentioned users with the relevant details.

Screen_Shot_2020-05-11_at_3.03.15_pm.png

Did this answer your question?